Daily Musings – Day 40: Jer 51 – Ez 13

Amidst the exile and the destruction of the temple, the Israelites seem to have been deserted by God, left without hope. Yet, a tiny portion in the reading reveals some hope. It serves as a reminder that no matter how broken one’s circumstances may be, there is always light and hope in God.

A ray of hope

The book of Lamentations is set against the backdrop of the destruction of Jerusalem. It is a collection of poetic laments expressing the sense of loss that Israel was experiencing at the time since their identity was associated with Jerusalem and the temple. The poems capture feelings of deep sorrow, affliction, and bitterness.

Remembering God’s judgement against his people, the writer says, “He has driven me away and made me walk in darkness rather than light; indeed, he has turned his hand against me again and again, all day long... Even when I call out or cry for help, he shuts out my prayer. He has barred my way with blocks of stone; he has made my paths crooked… I have been deprived of peace; I have forgotten what prosperity is.” From a grand covenant to utter hopelessness now, the reader wonders if Israel’s story would ever recover from this point.

Continuing to journal his anguish and despair, the writer laments, “My soul is downcast within me.” But just as soon as he says that, he surprises the reader with his following words, “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope…” Can Israel really find hope in such a forlorn, impossible state? Many times, I find it difficult to look beyond my pain, doubts, and fears; hope is not the first thing that I seek. But here, someone does something very different.

What the writer consciously casts his mind back to is this: “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.’” His decision, although hard to practice in trying times, is inspiring. Israel was uprooted from everything familiar and known and planted around oppression. Yet, they manage to shift their focus to God’s unchanging attributes, and find meaning and hope in their situation.

The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,” the writer concludes, “to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord… For no one is cast off by the Lord forever. Though he brings grief, he will show compassion, so great is his unfailing love. For he does not willingly bring affliction or grief to anyone.” I pray that my spiritual vision is strengthened, like the writer of Lamentations, to recognise the God of hope amidst uncertainty.


Featured Image: Ray of Hope by Sherry Benedict. From the artist: “Even though the world can seem dark and gloomy there’s always a ray of light to give you hope.” Source: www.fineartamerica.com/

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑